French Buddha Tornado

My 2009 mix CD is at long last complete!

As in previous years, it’s  a mix of recent and current favorites, with some old favs thrown in to round it out.  This year I am quite pleased with the results.

I made a new rule regarding the titling of mix CDs.  There’s always the question of whether or not to title a mix.  If it has a theme, it’s simple enough.  But if there isn’t a clear uniting theme among the tracks… well, anything I think of just feels sort of pretentious to me.  Unless the goal is irony, it just doesn’t feel right.

So!  The new rule is that mix CDs without a unifying theme will be titled by choosing three to six semi-random words from the titles of the songs.  The title of this mix CD is French Buddha Tornado.  The track list is as follows:

1) French Navy – Camera Obscura
2) The Next Time Around – Little Joy
3) Tonight – The Robot Ate Me
4) Over and Over Again (Lost and Found) – Clap Your Hands, Say Yeah
5) One Time Too Many – Pheonix
6) Between the Bars – Madeleine Peyroux
7) Gone Away – My Brightest Diamond
8) The Story I Heard – Blind Pilot
9) VCR – The XX
10) Masterfade – Andrew Bird
11) I Heard a Voice – The Deadly Snakes
12) This Tornado Loves You – Neko Case
13) Swimmers – Broken Social Scene
14) Shine a Light – Wolf Parade
15) Carnival – Kevin Devine
16) Tear Down the House – The Avett Brothers
17) I Love You and Buddha Too – Mason Jennings
18) Reben Rebel – Seu Jorge
19) All the Wine – The National
20) Rebellion (Lies) – Arcade Fire
21) Silja Line (On Settling for a Normal Life) – The Rosebuds

Tags: ,

  1. Beckett’s avatar

    Following this rule has paid off! I like the title your tracklist created for itself. I hope to ship your cd off tomorrow . I don’t know when the snow storm is suppose to hit however, but I will try my damnest to get the post office.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *